Carthage Chamber of Commerce banquet recognizes members and community leaders

By JRBJ Staff

On Jan. 20 the Carthage Chamber of Commerce celebrated the past year with its USO/military appreciation-themed 2017 Annual Banquet. Over 400 Chamber members and community leaders were in attendance, and helped honor businesses and individuals as they came to receive awards.

The awards and their winners were:


Retiring Board of Directors Award-

Given to retiring Board Members in appreciation of their continued insight, support and/or encouragement.

  • Ryan Brunnert - Ott Food Products


Special Recognition Awards- 

Given in recognition of extraordinary contributions to the Chamber and/or the Carthage community.

  • Tom Flanigan - Missouri House of Representatives District 163
  • Jim Honey - Jasper County Commission
  • Steve McIntosh - Office of U.S. Senator Roy Blunt


Chairman’s Award-

Presented by the Chairman in recognition of 2016 contributions to the Chamber and Carthage community.

  • Jeanine Poe, Maple Leaf Committee Chair


ATHENA Award- 

A nationally recognized award presented in recognition of those who support, develop, and honor women leaders.

  • Lee Elliff Pound, Missouri Southern Alumni Assoc.

Sponsored by the Ruth I. Kolpin Foundation and SMB Bank


Artist of the Year Award-

In recognition of contributions to the Carthage art community.

  • Bill Sutter

Sponsored by artCentral


Golden Key Awards-  

  • Sherri Wick - 2nd Grade Mark Twain Elementary
  • Tammy Dobler - 6th Grade Carthage Intermediate Center
  • Gina Robbins - Counselor Carthage Junior High School
  • Jennifer Sager - Band Director Carthage High School

Sponsored by Southwest Missouri Bank


Inaugural Golden Hammer Award-

Presented by Carthage Historic Preservation in recognition of an historic property being preserved in an historically appropriate manner.

  • Sean & Ashley Harmon

Sponsored by Edward Jones - Darren Collier


Humanitarian of the Year Award-

Presented in recognition of improvements to healthcare in the Carthage community

  • Carthage Crisis Center

Sponsored by McCune Brooks Healthcare Foundation


Community Enhancement Award-

Presented to recognize an organization, committee, group, or individual that has contributed significantly to make our community a better place to live. 

  • ADM Milling

Sponsored by the Carthage Chamber of Commerce


Spotlight Award-

Awarded to one business each year that has contributed to the overall enhancement of the business community of Carthage through revitalization or improvements made to their business location.

  • Cave Gang Pizza & Pub, Eli & Vanessa Bruton

Sponsored by Woodpecker Products


Small Business of the Year Award-

Presented to one business each year that has provided a positive image and been a vibrant entity within the Carthage business community.

  • Lunch Boxtruck, Caleb Stiles

Sponsored by Dr. Fly’s Salon


Emerging Leader of the Year-

This award is presented in recognition of individuals who further their career path or begin a new career path.

  • Tyler Smith, Southwest Missouri Bank

Sponsored by Missouri Southern State University


Richard M. Webster Citizen of the Year Award-

Given in memory of the late Senator Richard M. Webster, the Citizen of the Year Award is presented in recognition of demonstrated devotion to the Carthage community.

  • Stan Schmidt

Sponsored by Carthage Rotary Club


The Carthage area Chamber of Commerce also extended a thank you to their sponsors Leggett & Platt, H.E. Williams, Mercy Hospital, Beimdiek Insurance, SNC Squared, Fair Acres Family YMCA, MSSU, Schmidt Associates, Lakeland Office, Carthage Marine Transport, Empire District Electric, Hometown Bank, LPL Financial, McCune-Brooks Healthcare Foundation, and Race Brothers Farm & Home.

Back To News